• newslepear
  • Posts
  • 🍐 #75: Examples of dev tool sales outreach emails, how to pick your channels, and a new resources for founders

🍐 #75: Examples of dev tool sales outreach emails, how to pick your channels, and a new resources for founders

Hey,

How did the pear outsmart other fruit? It just went depear 🍐 ;)

This week on the agenda:

  • New resource for dev tool founders

  • Examples of dev tool sales outreach emails

  • Developer marketing channels (and how to find your mix)

  • + a few bonus links at the end

Before we start, a word from our sponsor:

Reach 4+ million tech professionals reading TLDR


If your target audience includes software developers, AI/ML engineers, DevOps, InfoSec, and executives, consider advertising in TLDR newsletters.

They have 10 interest-based newsletters to help you reach your specific audience (AI, Webdev, Crypto, DevOps, Infosec, and others).

Copywriting services and campaign performance reports (similar to a LinkedIn demographic report) are included at no additional cost.

Learn more about running your first ad campaign.

Developer marketing insights

1. New resource for dev tool founders

I am super excited to read through those resources because one of the authors is an absolute top-notch dev marketer.

Justin Gage (fantastic name btw πŸ˜‰ ) is a dev/tech content writer who wrote for companies like PlanetScale, Retool, and DigitalOcean. And his work is just great.

Some time ago I shared this example of how his SEO-focused article managed to get to the front page of Hacker News

If others are just as good as he is, this will be gold.

With that in mind, I’d highly suggest taking a look!

2. Developer marketing channels (and how to find your mix)

If I got a penny for every time I get asked β€œWhich channels should I choose to market my dev tool?" I could probably buy a hot dog or two.

There are so many channels you can choose from. And all of them could work for some dev tool. In the article, I list out many, share my thoughts on each + a few good examples.

But the more important thing is what has a higher chance of working for you. There are a few questions that can help you make that decision:

  • Where do you (my ideal dev) hang out online? Which channels, podcasts, blogs, newsletters, X/LinkedIn accounts do you follow?

  • How do you (my ideal dev) stay up to date with the latest in your field?

  • Do (my ideal) devs search for a solution to this problem right now?

Ask them whenever you have a chance. And follow up, to understand what they like about them.

But before you do…

3. Examples of dev tool sales outreach emails

I saw some of you folks requesting examples of good sales outreach emails. And while I have it on my list of topics to write about, I happened to find an article that goes into that exactly on the Correlated blog.

Here are the three examples they shared (but do check the article for additional commentary):

Offer engineering assistance

Social proof and architectural diagrams

Using product data to inform the discussion

Need more developer marketing insights?

1. Work with me 🍐

Every week I have a few slots for Workshops (60-minute session on whatever you want), Teardowns (audit+suggestions for your homepage/messaging/ads etc), and longer-term Advising.

"Thanks so much for your time and all the thoughtful feedback coming from the workshop.

I feel like we are in a much better place to start our website rebuild. "

Sarah Morgan, Head of Product and Customer Engagement, Scout APM

2. Bonus links to check out

3. Join our Slack community

1700+ dev tool CMOs, heads of growth, product marketers, and other practitioners talking shop.

"Been here 20 min and already folks are sharing great advice."

Charles Cook, VP Marketing & Ops @Posthog

Reply

or to participate.