• newslepear
  • Posts
  • 🍐 #72: My first video teardown, merch promo idea, and Kelsey Hightower asking developers "what marketing works on you"

🍐 #72: My first video teardown, merch promo idea, and Kelsey Hightower asking developers "what marketing works on you"

Hey,

How do pears like their coffee? From pearcolator 🍐 ;).

This week on the agenda:

  • Deepgram website teardown (by me)

  • Janessa Lantz and Floats Merch Menu

  • “Developers, what marketing strategies work on you?”

  • + a few bonus links at the end

Before we start, a word from our sponsor:

Common Room combines signals from your site and product, job boards, social platforms, and communities to help you identify accounts ready to “talk to sales”.

If you’d like to see it in action but don’t want to connect it just yet, you can take an interactive tour of a real-looking project.

Just go to the site and click “take a 2 min tour”.

Developer marketing insights

1. Deepgram website teardown (by me)

Figured I’d experiment with a new format and I am super curious to see what you think.

This is a deeper 20-minute website teardown video. I go over all core elements on the homepage and say what I like, what I don’t like, and what changes I’d test out.

I started with a dev tool website that is just great, deepgram.com. But I think it would be even more helpful if I teardown pages with more to improve. Less-known sites, early-stage startups, or companies getting started with dev GTM.

If you’d like me to record a free public teardown of your website, ads, socials, etc -> just reply to this email (I also do deeper private teardowns).

Ok, enough talking, here it is.

Would you like to see more of these teardown videos?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

2. Janessa Lantz and Floats Merch Menu

Janessa Lantz is an advisor/fractional marketing executive, ex dbt Labs VP marketing, ex Hubspot Senior Comms manager. She knows her stuff.

Her LinkedIn posts are fantastic, come from “been there done that” experience. Highly recommend giving her a follow.

This post is very tactical. Not exactly dev tools (though many of her posts are). But it is so easy to copy-paste for your next conference booth. Especially, if you go for funny T-shirts ;).

3. “Developers, what marketing strategies work on you?”

Recently Kelsey Hightower, the legend of devrel asked on X.

Adam DuVander (the author of “Developer marketing does not exist”) went over the answers, extracted the juice, and wrote an article: “DevTools Marketing That Works, According to Developers Themselves” (great stuff btw).

The TLDR is this:

  • Don’t try to impress us, try to help us.

  • Don’t make it feel like marketing.

  • Let us get our hands dirty (with your product).

Here are my favorite replies quoted in the article:

And an important parting thought ;)

Need more developer marketing insights?

1. Work with me 🍐

Every week I have a few slots for Workshops (60-minute session on whatever you want), Teardowns (audit+suggestions for your homepage/messaging/ads etc), and longer-term Advising.

"Thanks so much for your time and all the thoughtful feedback coming from the workshop.

I feel like we are in a much better place to start our website rebuild. "

Sarah Morgan, Head of Product and Customer Engagement, Scout APM

2. Bonus links to check out

3. Join our Slack community

1700+ dev tool CMOs, heads of growth, product marketers, and other practitioners talking shop.

"Been here 20 min and already folks are sharing great advice."

Charles Cook, VP Marketing & Ops @Posthog

What did you think of this issue?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Reply

or to participate.